Numismatic Museum05-02-2013 15:35The Numismatic Museum of Athens is under the roof of the “Iliou Melathron”, the monumental private residence of Heinrich Schliemann, the “father of Mycenaean archaeology”, designed by Ernst Ziller. The Numismatic Museum is one of the oldest public museums in Greece and a vast collection of ancient and modern coinage is exhibited.
The Numismatic Museum was first established in 1843 and co-housed with the National Library in a room at the University of Athens. In 1856, Achilles Postolakas was appointed as the numismatic expert and was the first to set the basis of the scientific organization of the Museum.
The Numismatic Museum remained within the premises of the Academy of Athens until 1940, when the director Eirene Varoucha assumed the responsibility to transport the collections to the Bank of Greece for safety due to World War II. In 1946, the Numismatic Collection was relocated to the first floor of the National Archaeological Museum, where the new exhibition was completed in 1956.
In 1984, the Ministry of Culture assigned the Iliou Melathron to house the Numismatic Museum. The monument was in need of extensive restoration and conservation works on its murals and mosaics. In 1998, after extensive and time-consuming restoration works, the permanent exhibition of the Museum was inaugurated in Iliou Melathron.
The collection of the museum comprises of collections of coinage starting of the early city-states of the 6th century B.C. till the modern world. Some of the most notable exhibits are the coins with the turtles of Aegina and owls of Athens, the first coins issued in Greece. Also the gold stater of Alexander the Great was one of the earliest coins to be distributed internationally during the Classical and Hellenistic periods.
There are also coins dating from the Roman and the Byzantine Era, denarii, aureii, sestertii, solidi, follies, coins of the great European powers of the 18th century and the Ottoman Empire till the phoenices issued by Ioannis Kapodistrias in 1828, the first national coins of the Modern Greek state and the drachm, first issued by King Otho in 1832 till the modern paper money.
Athens Numismatic Museum (useful info)(housed in "Iliou Melathron")
12 Panepistimiou str., 10671, Athens, Greece
tel.: (+30) 210 3632057, 210 3612834, 210 3612872
fax: (+30) 210 3635953
email: firstname.lastname@example.org, email@example.com
Tuesday to Sunday from 08.00 till 15.00
Also closed on official holidays: 1st of January, 25th of March, Orthodox Easter, 1st of May, 25th and 26th of December
Ticket price: 3 euros
Access: via metro, Syntagma station or Panepistimio or alternatively via the trolley buses 2, 3, 4, 11, 13
There's an elevator for disabled people.
More than just a famous tourist destination, Santorini boasts a romantic scene where you can have some really memorable moments with your partner. The time when the sun sets deep down to the Aegean Sea and the sky gets these amazing orange colors is the best to enjoy a cocktail. One of the best places to do so is the Classico bar restaurant in the capital of Fira.
It opened in 2004 and soon became one of the favourite dining spots in Santorini. It is called Metaxy mas which means.. between us, but it is not a secret any more that this restaurant has a rich menu with almost 40 different dishes and appetizers based on traditional Greek cuisine.
Explore the fascinating volcanic island of Santorini the way you want it yourself! Enjoy a unique accommodation experience, with huge doses of privacy and luxury by choosing to stay in Incognito Villa.
We have been choosing Parea Tavern for our meals and dinners for 14 years! Every time someone from Touristorama travels to the island of Santorini, he enjoys authentic Greek cuisine at the terrace of this restaurant in the heart of Fira. And we are not the only ones. Thousands of tourists include it among their favorites on the volcanic island.
Like a relay race of three generations; a journey with happy days, sad days, joys, sorrows, wars, Occupation, poverty, hunger, deaths, volcanic eruptions, catastrophic earthquakes, flee for a better life, return, better days, feasts, tourism explosion, financial crises and so on… Everything has been indelibly inscribed on the walls of this small building, Aktaion. I feel grateful that life has given me the opportunity to hold the reins of Aktaion all the way to its centennial.
The Marmita Restaurant is now a part of the history of Santorini, since it has been operating in Megalochori since 2004. From 2013 it s been running under the observation of new owner Giannis Manikas and the sense of renewal is obvious.
The statue of Poseidon, made of Parian marble, was found in 1877 on Milos island, along with a statue of his mate, Amphitrite. The larger than life-size statue depicts the god almost nude, wearing a himation...
For the second consecutive year, three dynamic bodies, the Benaki Museum, Costa Navarino and Athens International Airport, join forces for culture. Leveraging on the Benaki Museum collection of printed...
The Museum of Prehistoric Thera houses finds from the excavations at Akrotiri, conducted under the auspices of the Archaeological Society at Athens, the earlier excavations at Potamos, made by members...
In 1249, the ruler of the Frankish Principate of Achaea William II of Villeharbdouin built a srong fortress, atop the naturally-fortified hill of Myzithra in Lacedaimon. It would play an improtant role...